Arthur: LA. is a psychic death hole

Arthur Magazine, the freak folk loving, Thurston Moore adoring title, is moving from Los Angeles to New York.

It’s all about Brooklyn, baby. I hear Williamsburg is wonderful this time of year.

Jay Babcock:

New York is just a more hospitable environment than L.A. ever has been or will be. L.A. is devolving quickly, and I think I got out in the nick of time. The L.A. Times is imploding, our public radio is terrible, the [L.A.] Weekly’s been devolving for years. Local media’s being run into the ground and I don’t think anybody cares. The public’s dumbed down and poorly educated. L.A. is a psychic death hole to me, and I don’t want a part of that. There are so many impending crises — the political structure, the traffic, the educational system. L.A. is failing worse than ever, and I felt that if I can get out, I should. I found a way out. For a long time now I’ve been going back and forth between L.A. and New York, and every time I got off the plane in L.A. I felt dumber.

Culture in L.A. is in a race to the bottom, and all the smart and creative people there are [involved in] new ways to do social networking or figure out what YouTube video is going to get the most views. That isn’t culture, it’s pure pandering.

LA Times

Published in: on July 25, 2008 at 1:27 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://boredofdictators.wordpress.com/2008/07/25/arthur-la-is-a-psychic-death-hole/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

